What laws and doctrines do Roman Catholics adhere to?

July 5, 2013 | By

Question by doctorgt3: What laws and doctrines do Roman Catholics adhere to?
What must a Roman Catholic do to be saved by Jesus? Please list them out.

Best answer:

Answer by The Wolf
1 Believe in God and have faith
2. Fullfill the 10 commandments
3. Sin but truly beg for forgiveness
4. take the eucharist
5. Pray and have hope

Know better? Leave your own answer in the comments!

Filed in: Weddings | Tags: , , , ,

Comments (8)

  1. Sirius

    Roman Catholics throw up masonic signs in thier congregation. Which all go back to ancient Egypt and the mystery schools thier.

    Look at these symbols they are the same the ancient Egyptians used.


  2. Michael B - Repeal Prop. 8!

    Many adhere to the false doctrine that “treat others as you want to be treated” really means “take away the civil rights from law-abiding, taxpaying, gay Americans.”

    Of course, this doctrine is not going to get any of its adherents to Heaven, but perhaps a severe rebuke from Jesus.

  3. Farsight (The anti-Chris)

    According to Catholic teachings, nothing we do can grant our salvation. Many people will tell you that we believe we are saved by our own works. they will even quote out of context lines from the Catechism to suppor this. But it is completely untrue and they are either misinformed or outright lying to you(Chris).

    Catholicism teaches that salvation is by the grace of God alone and nothing else. Period. End of story.

  4. RaiderFan

    jesus sucks…

    he hasnt done shit for me… i turned out ok…

  5. Trevor

    1. Love the Lord our God with our whole heart
    2. Accept Christ as our Savior and place our faith in Him
    3. Baptism
    4. Be obedient to God’s commandments

  6. tattoomomkc

    I almost don’t want to bother considering how hostile your answers are towards Catholics.

    We don’t use the term “saved” as you do. For one important point.

    Living within the Sacraments is the best example I can give:

    1) Baptism. Erases the original sin of Adam and Eve.

    2) Reconciliation, aka “Confession” is the way to learn about sin, ponder sin, repent sin, and to not repeat sin. Our rule are yours — follow the ten commandments, and also the 7 deadly sins — but it’s the commandments we adhere to most of all. In this sacrament we also focus on the beatitudes outlined by Jesus, and follow them.

    3) Communion: we do as Jesus commanded at the Last Supper — (Matt26:26) and being in communion with Christ is Salvation.

    4) Confirmation: equivalent to your baptism, this is how we promise to remain faithful in Christ and promise to continue in the faith and the sacraments.

    5/6) Holy Matrimony/Holy Orders: Some of us choose to be married and be fruitful and multiply — there is far more to this than I care to get into tonight. Holy Orders is the Sacrament for those choosing to be clergy, and in effect they marry the church.

    7) Anointing of the sick: this sacrament used to be known as “Last Rites” and was for the dying person. Due to the advent of modern medicine this Sacrament has changed from one given at imminent death to a Sacrament that is repeatable if one’s death does not come to pass. Either way, it should be received.

    The corner stone of our faith is the Eucharist. That is surely the way to heaven — because with the receiving comes a natural desire to help others and act Christ-like.

  7. Observer

    Become as childlike as possible… something many Christians forget about.

  8. DougLawrence

    Catholics understand that God saves us because he loves us, and that God is sovereign and all powerful, so no one can force God to save them, by any means.

    Hence, salvation remains a free gift … and with Catholics … salvation is initially conferred through baptism … often, shortly after birth.

    Catholics observe ten commandments and five church precepts, and we rely on seven holy sacraments … each one of them personally instituted by Jesus Christ, in order to maintain and sustain God’s grace in our souls, until death.

    Catholic beliefs and practices are based on tradition, scripture, and on the authentic teachings of those who God has placed in church authority, going all the way back to Jesus and the apostles.

    Catholics are a Eucharistic people, whose enduring faith finds its’ source and center in Jesus Christ, who is really and substantially present, just as he promised, in the most holy sacrament of the altar, under the appearances of ordinary bread and wine.

    Catholics believe in the Holy Trinity, the Holy Catholic Church, the Communion of Saints, the forgiveness of sins, the resurrection of the body, the future return of Jesus Christ, and in life everlasting, on a reconstituted earth.

    More available here: